Overview

The Lore Of Prometheus: Graham Austin-King

Genre: Military Fiction | Science Fiction | Thriller

Length: 287 Pages Rating: 5 Stars

Published: by Fallen Leaf Press, November 30, 2018

Synopsis

John Carver has three rules: Don’t drink in the daytime, don’t gamble when the luck has gone, and don’t talk to the dead people who come to visit.

It has been almost five years since the incident in Kabul. Since the magic stirred within him and the stories began. Fleeing the army, running from the whispers, the guilt, and the fear he was losing his mind, Carver fell into addiction, dragging himself through life one day at a time.

Desperation has pulled him back to Afghanistan, back to the heat, the dust, and the truth he worked so hard to avoid. But there are others, obsessed with power and forbidden magics, who will stop at nothing to learn the truth of his gifts. Abducted and chained, Carver must break more than his own rules if he is to harness this power and survive.


Tour Info

I received this book to read and review as part of the BBNYA 2020 competition and/or the BBNYA tours organised by the @The_WriteReads tours team.  

BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors. 

If you are a book blogger or reviewer, you can apply to be part of BBNYA 2021 by filling out this form (also remember to read the terms and conditions before signing up)! 

BBNYA is brought to you in association with the Folio Society (If you love beautiful books you NEED to check out their website!) And the book blogger support group TheWriteReads.

First Impressions

I suppose it’s time to admit it: I don’t really read a lot of books by indie authors. It’s not that I’ve had an aversion to it. It’s just something that had never really crossed my path. Of course, being a book blogger, I feel as though I need to expand my horizons and get the most out of my literary experience. Once I read the blurb, I knew that this was a book that I needed to read, and I certainly was not disappointed.

Review

If you know me at all, then you know that I love sci-fi/fantasy books. It’s pretty rare that I can be convinced to read something that doesn’t include at least one of the two. This being said, I thought that The Lore of Prometheus was the perfect fit, at least once I got past the first few chapters. The first few chapters read much more like a general mystery/thriller, with very little out of the ordinary happening. John is a man, down on his luck, in trouble with some shady figures because he just keeps digging himself in deeper. There’s nothing at all to indicate that anything weird is going on.

However, these chapters helped me to fall in love with John and really get to know him and his motivations. He’s a flawed man with a heart of gold, and he’s determined to do what he has to do in order to stay afloat in a society that would rather see him cast aside. Of course, staying afloat means that John has to return to Afghanistan, the place where his worst memories live.

It’s there that we get a shift in point of view (both in character and in narration), to Mackenzie, a nurse who has been kidnapped and is being tortured by people who believe that she possesses some sort of supernatural abilities. While I originally found the shift in narration from first person to third person to be slightly jarring, I felt as though it still worked to fully express Mackenzie’s story. In fact, I worry that if the narration stayed in first person, the chapters told from her perspective would almost be too graphic to read.

Speaking of reading, I found this to be a story that I just couldn’t put down. I found myself constantly wondering what was going to happen next. I could almost picture the kind of laboratory set up John and Mackenzie find themselves in. I remember at one point feeling as if I could actually taste the sand in my mouth (which was certainly an interesting feeling).

At the end of the day, I feel as though the plot was very nicely wrapped up. Could there be a sequel? Yes. Would I complain about it? Absolutely not. In fact I would probably get it the day it releases.

Rating & Final Thoughts

Rating: 5 out of 5.

While I wasn’t part of the voting for last year’s round of BBNYA novels, I can completely understand why this was the book that won. The Lore Of Prometheus is a beautifully crafted book, that should be on any sci-fi lover’s TBR.